THE HISTORY OF
On the 24th of October 2000 the
Ruadh Club was 91 years old, having been founded in 1909. The club was founded after a public meeting which was inspired by a call from the local branch of the Gaelic League "to consider the advisability of having some Irish games started in the town".
The club was found on Sunday, 24th and at the meeting the admission fee to the games was fixed at one shilling and a membership fee of one penny per week was levied.
The first hurling and football practices took place in the 'Workhouse Meadow', now known as Munday's Field at West Rock on Sunday, October 31st 1909.
Capitalising in the local talent available and particularly on an established hurling tradition, the club since its inception has met with significant success in both hurling and football and has had the following successes:
- Senior Hurling Co. Champions:
- 1924, 1929, 1966(Erne Valley), 1975, 1977.
- Intermediate Hurling Co. Champions:
- Junior Hurling Co. Champions:
- U-12B Co. Hurling Champions:
- U-16B Hurling Champions:
- 1994, 1995.
- U-12 Football Champions:
- 1973, 1974, 1976, 1990, 1991, 1997.
- U-12B Football Champions:
- U-13 Champions:
- U-14 Champions:
- U-15 Ogsport:
- 1979, 1990, 1981, 1994.
- U-15 Ulster Ogsport:
- U-16 Champions:
- 1974, 1978, 1979, 1986, 1993, 1995, 1997.
- U-17 League:
- 1989, 1990, 1991.
- U-18 Champions:
- 1935, 1936, 1937, 1961, 1963, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1988, 1990,1992.
- Minor League:
- 1980, 1982, 1986.
- U-21 Champions:
- 1981, 1982, 1988, 1989, 1993.
- Senior Reserve Champions:
- 1990, 1998, 1999.
- Senior Reserve League:
- 1994, 1996, 1998.
- Senior Champions
- 1929, 1932, 1937, 1939, 1942, 1943, 1951, 1986, 1987, 1994, 1997, 1998.
County Final Facts
- Senior League
- 1930, 1941, 1944, 1945, 1947, 1955, 1997.
- Div. 4 League:
- Ladies Senior Football Champions:
- Intermediate Camogie:
- 1990, 1998.
- U-14 Camogie:
- U-16 Camogie
- 1988, 1989.Camogie History
The development of
Park culminated with the opening in 1954, and in the eighties further progress was made with the erection of the first ever stand in the county. Other major developments in recent years, has been the purchasing of Munday's field (where the club played its first games) and the building of modern dressing rooms and a players tunnel onto the main pitch.
Recently a further development has taken place with the building of a press box and dressing rooms, which will be ready for use in early spring.
The club was also the first in the county to have a club shop from which all club gear, etc. can be purchased, along with other gaelic games literature, flags county jerseys, etc.
Over the years numerous players from the club have represented the county at all levels while at administration level, the club also has a very high level of involvement.